Office Of The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic, Research and Student Affairs

  Prof. Wanjiku Chiuri, PhD

  Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Research & Student Affairs  


  View Profile



Prof. Wanjiku Chiuri : Deputy Vice-Chancellor (ARSA), Laikipia University holds a PhD from University Waterloo-Canada.  She is an Associate Professor in Environmental Studies. 

She previously served as Rwanda Country Director for International Centre for Tropical Agricultural (CIAT), Dean Faculty of Education - Laikipia Campus, Founder member of the Gender Centre Laikipia Campus and was founder member of Karlstad linkage.   

Prof. Chiuri consults widely on Gender and Resources Management including Agriculture, Water, Livelihoods development, Climate Change, Resilience and Adaptation Strategies, Participatory Development Planning and Training, Environmental Impact Assessment and Resources Use Conflicts Resolution.

Her research interests include gender mainstreaming and analysis, value chain analysis, development of innovation platforms as the new approach to stakeholder participation in development and wealth creation ranging from natural resources management, resource use, conflict resolution and local adaptations to climate change vagaries. She is a member of several institutions including Global gender and water alliance, CODESRIA.

She is a NEMA lead expert who has carried out numerous impact assessments and has also trained in the area. She has been an associate Professor in the Faculty of Environment and Resources Development since 2008.


The Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( Academic, Research & Student Affairs ) is the head of the Academic and Research Division of the University, and oversees the Academic and Research programmes of the University.
Working under the general direction of the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and Research) responsibilities are:

  1. Have the overall responsibility of direction, organization and administration of learning and research programmes in the University;
  2. Ensure that the University Senate is properly advised in the development of learning and research programmes in conformity to ethical standards and legally recognized professional bodies;
  3. Ensure effective accountability to the Vice-Chancellor for the proper management of the Academic and Research Division;
  4. Be responsible for promoting and coordinating research, scientific publications, innovation, extension and technology transfer to industry and the business community;
  5. Mobilize and solicit financial support for research from industry and other external organizations;
  6. Establish and maintain linkages and collaborations with both local and international universities, research institutions, innovation centres and industry for academic, research and innovation programmes;
  7. Co-ordinate workshops and seminars on outreach programmes and technology transfer;
  8. Formulate and provide policy guidelines on planning, development and management of academic and research programmes;
  9. Prepare curricula/ syllabi, and rules and regulations governing the implementation of academic and research programmes;
  10. Formulate guidelines for effective management, implementation and evaluation of academic and research programmes;
  11. Guide Chairpersons of Academic Departments or Centres, Deans of Schools or Institutes, Directors/ Managers of Schools, Institutes or Campuses, and Director of Research, Extension and Consultancy on the running of academic and research programmes;
  12. Oversee the administration of the students' welfare services;
  13. Seek consultancy services from industry and other external organizations;
  14. Promote extension services with the communities;
  15. Co-ordinate seminars, workshops, conferences and symposia; and
  16. Work closely with the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration, Finance and Planning), on staff development, training and research programmes.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( Academic, Research & Student Affairs) is the Chairperson of:

  1. The Deans' Committee;
  2. The Students' Welfare Committee;
  3. The Library and Publications Committee;
  4. Students' Disciplinary Committee;
  5. Training, Research, Extension and Consultancy Committee;
  6. Linkages and Collaborations Committee;
  7. The Staff Appointments Committee (in accordance with the existing Collective Bargaining Agreements) of the academic staff of the level of Lecturer and below;
  8. Open, Distance and E-Learning Committee; and
  9. Graduation Committee (Ad-hoc).


Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( Academic, Research & Student Affairs)
Physical Address - Main Campus
Postal Address: P.O. Box 1100-20300, Nyahururu, Kenya

Copyright © 2020 Laikipia University. All right reserved.

Laikipia University is ISO 9001:2015 & ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Certified