KIPPRA Mentorship Programme for Universities and TVETs (KMPUTs)

Laikipia University hosted a two-day Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA) Mentorship Programme for Universities and TVETs from 20th September – 21st September, 2023 at Vision 2030 Hall.

The mentorship was officially graced by Laikipia University Vice Chancellor Prof. Kibett Rotich who signed an MOU with KIPPRA Board Chair Prof. Benson Ateng’. Also in attendance were Ag. Deputy Vice Chancellor – Academic Research and Student Affairs (ARSA) Prof. Jacinta Ndambuki, KIPPRA Executive Director Dr. Rose Ngugi among other officials from Laikipia University and KIPPRA.

The signed MOU will focus on: Capacity Building, Mentorship Programme, Policy Research and Analysis, Technical and Advisory Services, Industrial Attachment and Internships, Networking, Research and Consultancy, Outreach and Collaboration. In his remarks, the VC urged the students that, it is their chance to learn something new concerning Policy Making Process and Programmes and he reiterated that it is through collaboration and sharing that people learn as none has a monopoly of ideas.

KIPPRA is a public think tank with the mandate to build capacity in public policy making process in realization of the national development goals. The theme for this years’ event was “Kenya’s Transformative Agenda since Independence and Future Projections” and was well attended by Staff and Students within the University and other Universities and Institutes including Kabarak University, Dedan Kimathi University of Technology, Egerton University among others.

According to KIPPRA Board Chair, the Mentorship Programme was started in 2018 in Strathmore University in Nairobi County. Since then it has been conducted in several other Universities in other counties including: Eldoret University in Uasin Gishu, Technical University of Mombasa (TUM) in Mombasa, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology in Kakamega, Garrisa University in Garrisa, Karatina University in Nyeri, Kisii University in Kisii, Masaai Mara University in Narok, University of Nairobi, Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University  of Science and Technology, Turkana University College, University of Embu, Kabarak University, Machakos University, Pwani University and Maseno University. Initially, it focused on Universities only but currently it includes TVET institutions across the country.

The Public Policy Making Process is an inclusive process thus students and all participants were urged to take part in it in order to understand better. KIPPRA Mentorship is anchored on the Government Transformative Agenda on Vision 2030 also the Bottom Up Initiative based on the five pillars on: Agriculture, Micro Small and Medium Enterprises, Housing and Settlement, HelthCare and Digital Superhighway and Creative Economy.

KIPPRA has partnership with The Government of Kenya, Kenya Vision 2030 Initiative, Konza Technopolis, National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation (NACOSTI), SME Support Centre, Youth Enterprise Development Fund, Safaricom Foundation, National Authority for the Campaign Against Alcohol and Drug Abuse (NACADA), National Gender and Equality Commision (NGEC), Siasa Place, National Commission for Persons Living With Disabilities among others.

The Mentorship forum went on till 21st September 2023.

Copyright © 2024 Laikipia University. All right reserved.

Laikipia University is ISO 9001:2015 & ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Certified